NYC Steampunk Social Calendar

  • Sunday
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Sun, Oct 1
    Bartitsu Club of NYC Training Session
    learn to fight like Sherlock Holmes - beginners welcome
    11:30 a.m
    4 West 18th Street, 3rd Floor, Manhattan
    Open Doors Mausoleum Tours
    docent-guided tour of 19th-century tombs, tickets: $20.00-$25.00
    12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m
    Green-wood Cemetery, 500 25th Street, Brooklyn
  • Mon, Oct 2
  • Tue, Oct 3
  • Wed, Oct 4
    SciCafe at the Museum of Natural History
    cocktails and conversation about cutting-edge science topics - "Humans and Conflicts with Bears: Oh My!" - free, RSVP required
    6:30 p.m
    Cullman Hall of the Universe, West 81st Street, Manhattan
  • Thu, Oct 5
    Vanishing New York Book Signing
    Meet the author Vanishing New York, a chronicle of gentrification and love letter to lost New York, by legendary New York blogger Jeremiah Moss
    7:00 p.m
    Greater Astoria Historical Society, Quinn Building, 35-20 Broadway, 4th Floor, Long Island City
  • Fri, Oct 6
  • Sat, Oct 7
    Grand Victorian Banquet and Ball
    reception, guided tour, historically-accurate banquet, lecture on Victorian dining, ballroom dancing, formal/historic attire required, tickets: $35.00-$95.00
    7:00 p.m
    Mt. Vernon Hotel Museum, 421 East 61st Street, Manhattan
  • Sun, Oct 8
  • Mon, Oct 9
  • Tue, Oct 10
  • Wed, Oct 11
  • Thu, Oct 12
  • Fri, Oct 13
    Charles Addams: Family and Friends Opening Reception
    opening of exhibit of artwork from famed New Yorker cartoonist Charles Addams, light refreshments served, tickets: $10.00-$15.00
    6:00 p.m.
    Morris-Jumel Mansion, 65 Jumel Terrace, Manhattan
  • Sat, Oct 14
    Open House New York
    hundreds of normally off-limits sites open their doors to the public
    various locations throughout New York City
    Sketching in the Gallery
    draw inspiration from the masterpieces; supplies included, free with museum admission
    11:00 a.m
    Morgan Library, 225 Madison Avenue, Manhattan
    Drink & Draw
    life drawing with live models over drinks at the Way Station, $10.00 and one-drink minimum
    3:30 p.m
    683 Washington Ave, Brooklyn
  • Sun, Oct 15
    Restoring Prospect Cemetery
    talk by preservation architect Dan Allen about the c. 1668 cemetery followed by guided tour, free
    2:00 p.m.
    King Manor Museum, 150-03 Jamaica Avenue, Queens
    Open House New York
    hundreds of normally off-limits sites open their doors to the public
    various locations throughout New York City
  • Mon, Oct 16
  • Tue, Oct 17
  • Wed, Oct 18
  • Thu, Oct 19
    Turn No Heads: The Evolution of the Dandy
    explore the social and sartorial history of dandyism over champagne, tickets: $35.00
    6:30 p.m
    Colonnade Row, 428-430 Lafayette Street, Manhattan
  • Fri, Oct 20
    Dracula
    Bram Stoker's novel adapted for the stage, runs through November 5, tickets: $20.00-$30.00
    8:00 p.m.
    Morris-Jumel Mansion, 65 Jumel Terrace, Manhattan
  • Sat, Oct 21
    Farmhouse Family Day
    hands-on crafts, scavenger hunts, colonial waffles, free
    Wyckoff House Museum, 5816 Clarendon Road, Brooklyn
  • Sun, Oct 22
    Goldmine: Handmade + vintage + thrift
    one-of-a-kind vintage, feathers and fascinators, unique jewelry, handmade clothing, costume and vintage pieces, vending opportunities, free admission
    1:00 p.m
    Gemini & Scorpio Loft, Gowanus, Brooklyn
    Museum of Interesting Things Secret Speakeasy
    Halloween theme, tickets: $10.00
    6:00 p.m
    The Loft, 177 Prince Street, 3rd Floor, Manhattan
  • Mon, Oct 23
    Candy: From Early History to Halloween
    talk with historic gastronomist Sarah Lohman explores the history of candy, the origins of Halloween, with tastinbgs of historic candy samples, tickets: $14.00
    6:30 p.m.
    Prospect Heights Brainery, 190 Underhill Avenue, Brooklyn
    Food of the Dead: A Culinary History of Funeral Food
    talk with historic gastronomist Sarah Lohman explores culinary traditions surrounding funerals with tastings, tickets: $16.00
    8:30 p.m.
    Prospect Heights Brainery, 190 Underhill Avenue, Brooklyn
  • Tue, Oct 24
  • Wed, Oct 25
  • Thu, Oct 26
  • Fri, Oct 27
  • Sat, Oct 28
    Open Hearth Baking Day
    bring something to bake, $5 suggested donation
    12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
    Old Stone House, 336 Third Street, Brooklyn
  • Sun, Oct 29
  • Mon, Oct 30
  • Tue, Oct 31
  • Wed, Nov 1
  • Thu, Nov 2
  • Fri, Nov 3
  • Sat, Nov 4


  submit a 19th-century or steampunk event for consideration to mlleviolet@nycsteampunk.com